Skip to content

Free Shipping For Orders Over $150


Chakras 101- An Explanation

by Amanda Wiart 23 Jan 2018 0 Comments

Chakras 101

You may have heard this word thrown around a lot in your yoga class but what exactly is a chakra?

Chakra (correctly pronounced cha-kra) is a Sanskrit word meaning spinning wheel. You have 7 main chakras positioned throughout your body, from the base of your spine to the crown of your head. Each chakra has its own vibrational frequency, which comes to energetic form through a specific chakra colour, and governs specific functions in the human body. Each chakra has its own unique emotional qualities that act as an index to all parts of your life.

It is said that we have hundreds of other mini chakras all throughout our body and energy field, here I will be focusing on the main seven.

Below is a description of each chakra, along with essential oils, affirmations and yoga poses to help you connect and balance.


Chakra 1
Base Chakra
Sanskrit Name: Muladhara
Location: Base of the spine
Colour: Red
Qualities: The Base chakra is all about your physical safety in this world and grounding into your body. Finances and home environment play a key part in this role. Often when this chakra is out of balance it can manifest in the form of a lower back pain.
Essential Oils: Vetiver – The Oil of Centering & Descent, Balance – The Oil of Grounding, Patchouli – The Oil of Physicality.
Affirmation: I am grounded in my physical body, I feel safe.
Yoga Poses: Tadasana (Mountain Pose), Vrksasana (Tree Pose)


Chakra 2
Sacral Chakra
Sanskrit Name: Svadhisthana
Location: Just below the naval centre
Colour: Orange
Qualities: Your sacral chakra is the gateway to your creativity. It’s physical positioning is at the womb space, with great reason as this chakra is all about what you are you birthing into the world. This chakra also relates to our sexuality and how we both cultivate and protect our sexual energy, as well as creating balance between our masculine and feminine energies.
Essential Oils: Jasmine – The Oil of Sexual Purity & Balance, Cinnamon – The Oil of Sexual Harmony, Citrus Bliss – The Oil of Creativity
Affirmation: I embrace my creative side, I allow my sexual energy to flow through me.
Yoga poses: Baddha Konasana (Bound angle pose/Butterfly), Eka Pada Rajakapotasana (Pigeon/Sleeping Swan), Utkata Konasana (Goddess Pose)


Chakra 3
Solar Plexus

Sanskrit Name: Manipura
Location: Stomach
Colour: Yellow
Qualities: Your Solar Plexus chakra is your home of self-worth, your emotions and how you are seen in the world. If we have no self-worth, we have no boundaries – both with self and others, which can result in being mistreating by others. The solar plexus chakra also holds a space for your intuition, more so your “gut feeling” also known as clairsentient. Will Power and Responsibility play a vital part in your Solar Plexus.
Essential Oils: Bergamot – The Oil of Self-Acceptance, Clove – The Oil of Boundaries, Fennel – The Oil of Responsibility Ginger – The Oil of Empowerment
Affirmation: I love and accept all parts of myself, I am worthy.
Yoga poses: Supta Virasana (Reclined Hero Pose/Saddle), Virabhadrasana 2 (Warrior 2)


Chakra 4
Heart Chakra

Sanskrit Name: Anahata
Location: Heart centre
Colour: Emerald Green
Qualities: Your heart chakra is your home of love. It’s where we can store unprocessed grief, jealousy and sadness. When the heart chakra is open, this is where you lead your life from (rather than the head). The heart chakra is also a guide as to whether we have an equal balance of giving and receiving in our world.
Essential Oils: Geranium – The Oil of Love & Trust, Rose – The Oil of Divine Love, Thyme – The Oil of Releasing & Forgiving.
Affirmation: I let go of any pain I hold in my heart space, and allow myself to heal.
Yoga Pose: Salamba Bhujangasana (Sphinx) , Ustrasana (Camel)


Chakra 5
Throat chakra

Sanskrit Name: Vishuddha
Location: Throat centre
Colour: Blue
Qualities: The throat chakra is all about self-expression, are you speaking your truth? Are the words you speak in alignment with who you truly are? Ask yourself when you listen are you truly present or are you just listening to speak again? Creativity plays a role in this chakra too.
Essential Oil: Spearmint – The Oil of Confident Speech
Affirmation: I speak from my aligned truth, it is safe for me to express myself.
Yoga Pose: Salamba Sarvangasana (Shoulder Stand), Matsyasana (Fish pose), Halasana (Plow pose)


Chakra 6
Third Eye

Sanskrit Name: Ajna
Location: Between the eyebrows
Colour: Purple
Qualities: Your third eye chakra is all about your inner knowing, your intuition. Every question we have the answer can be found within. This chakra also relates to our psychic abilities.
Essential Oils: Clary Sage – The Oil of Clarity & Vision, Frankincense – The Oil of Truth
Affirmation: Everything I seek is within.
Yoga Pose: Balasana (Childs Pose), Sukhasana (Easy Pose)


Chakra 7
Crown Chakra

Sanskrit Name: Sahasrara
Colour: Violet or White
Qualities: The crown chakra is about your connection to source/universe/God – whatever is true for you. It’s about trusting in a higher power, that there’s something/someone out there looking out for us and guiding us – if we just listen. It’s not only about being spiritual, but also being conscious.
Essential Oil: Melissa – The Oils of Light, Lavender – The Oil of Communication, Roman Chamomile – The Oil of Spiritual Purpose
Affirmation: I open myself up to receive and connect to a higher power.
Yoga Pose: Salamba Sirsasana (Head stand), Shavasana (Corpse Pose), Sukhasana (Easy Pose)



About the author:
Sarah Williams is a Yoga Teacher, Womens circle facilitator, doTERRA Leader and soon to be certified Life Coach on a mission to empower women to live the life they truly desire.
Known for her down to earth approach and authentic sharings, Sarah inspires women to get out of their head, get back into their body and lead from their heart.


Prev Post
Next Post

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.

Someone recently bought a
[time] ago, from [location]

Thanks for subscribing!

This email has been registered!

Shop the look

Choose Options

Recently Viewed

Edit Option
this is just a warning